Hours and Map
To get here you must take a ferry or hire a boat, leaving your car on Mt. Desert.
- Where to park on Mt. Desert
- Ferries to the Cranberry Isles
- Tour Maps
On your visit to Cranberry House, step into the Preble-Marr Historical museum for an insight into island life, enjoy a tasty lunch at Hitty’s Café (with free WiFi) (Cezar’s new link here), admire the gardens, and explore Sammy Sanford’s cabin (http://www.gcihs.org/1/cranberry-house/sanford-cabin.html) and the public trail (new link?) to Whistler’s Cove. Especially lucky visitors may arrive during one of the many entertaining and educational events (Calendar link here) held upstairs in the Arts Center.
After arriving by ferry at the Town Dock, stroll the two-mile long Cranberry Road or hop on the FREE Cranberry Explorer shuttle.
The GCIHS 7-passenger golf cart travels round-trip on Cranberry Road every half hour from the Town Dock to the end of the island and back, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 15 through September 15 (dates and times??). It’s a 15 minute ride each way.
Town Dock, leaves at :00 and :30
Cranberry House (Museum, Hitty’s Café, Arts Center, and Whistler Cove Trail)
Church and Ladies Aid
School and Library
Whale’s Rib Gift Shop (is this operating this year?)
Transfer Station and Gas Pump
Cranberry Shores Public Trail
End of Cranberry Road
Along the way the driver will narrate the sights, answer questions, and pick up or drop off passengers anywhere on Cranberry Road. The service is free but donations are appreciated.
Call Cranberry House for more information: (207) 244-7800.
Museum (Anne’s text 6/14/17)
The GCIHS Preble-Marr Historical Museum is on the first floor of Cranberry House about ¼ mile down the main road from the Great Cranberry Island town dock.
Admission is FREE! The museum is open every day 10:00-4:00 from Memorial to Columbus Day. Come explore our artifact displays and exhibits about life on Great Cranberry in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. New exhibitions are developed every year
|2017||Charting Their Course – Clues from the Collection From 1874 to 1884 islanders Meltiah and Carrie Richardson crisscrossed the Atlantic in their three-mast schooner. Their nautical charts and journal tell their story.||Anne Grulich; layout by Willoughby Hastings|
|2016||From Six Schools for Five Islands to One for Two: Cranberry Isles Schools 1830-2016. The two Cranberry Isles schoolhouses were renovated in 2016; the student body now alternates buildings every two years.||Anne Grulich|
|2015||The Agricultural Heritage of the Cranberry Isles: 19 Farms and Counting||Jessi Duma, Island Institute Fellow; Design by Jill Piekut|
|180-year-old Concealed Shoes and Cape Houses on GCI (Mentioned in Down East Magazine’s April 2015 edition. http://downeast.com/the-secret-lives-of-houses/)||Anne Grulich|
|Stanley Cemetery Preservation Project (also online at Stanley Cemetery Preservation)||Anne Grulich|
|Images on Glass, Iron, and Paper: 19th Century Photographs from the GCIHS collection||Anne Grulich|
|2014||180-year-old Shoes and an 1840s Cape-style Houses on GCI||Anne Grulich,|
|Images on Glass, Iron, and Paper||Anne Grulich,|
|2013||Great Cranberry Island’s Preble House on the Maine Memory Network||Anne Grulich|
|Three Heroines of Great Cranberry Island
The Maine Sea Coast Mission
|2012||Baker Island||Wini Smart|
|2011||The Prebles & Sammy Sanford
An Original Church Pew
|2010||History of the Cranberry Islands||Wini Smart|